Chief John Raaflaub Memorial Firefighter Scholarship Fund

The Chief John Raaflaub Memorial Firefighter Scholarship Fund helps students from Douglas County pursue careers in firefighting, and especially at the Superior Fire Department. Applicants can be high school graduates or those who have been out of high school for a longer period.


  • Graduate of: Preference to Superior High School – other eligible graduates from Northwestern, Marantha Academy, Solon Springs High School, or nontraditional/ GED student. 
  • In addition, preference may be given to: women and minorities, those who have participated in a “ride along” or similar program with a fire department, those who have volunteer experience or have studied a field related to firefighting and Superior High School graduates.
  • Must attend: Lake Superior College
  • Field of study must be: firefighting
  • Race/ Ethnicity: BIPOC preferred but not required
  • Demonstrate financial need
  • GPA: 3.0 or higher
  • Demonstrate volunteering or community involvement


Scholarship Grant Range

  • $3,000 for up to two years ($6,000 total) 


Application timeline

  • This scholarship is part of the Universal Application: December 1 – February 15
  • ONE Universal Application: Create a profile in the scholarship portal. Fill out the first page of the universal application to filter through all of the scholarships you qualify for. 


Award Details

  • This scholarship may be used for expenses of post-secondary education at any accredited college, university or technical/ vocational school
  • Award Payments will be mailed directly to the school/ university 
    • Fall Payments are mailed July 15-30
    • Spring Payments are mailed December 15-30
  • Transferring Schools: Please contact DSACF if you plan on transferring schools. Transferring schools does not automatically transfer your scholarship. If a transfer occurs after scholarship money has been disbursed it may take up to 90 days to reprocess the scholarship payment. 


Tax information

DSACF encourages scholarship recipients to seek tax advice regarding scholarships. According to the IRS: Scholarships, fellowship grants, and other grants are tax-free if you meet the following conditions:

  • You’re a candidate for a degree at an educational institution that maintains a regular faculty and curriculum and normally has a regularly enrolled body of students in attendance at the place where it carries on its educational activities; and
  • The amounts you receive are used to pay for tuition and fees required for enrollment or attendance at the educational institution, or for fees, books, supplies, and equipment required for courses at the educational institution.

Superior High School, Also eligible graduates from Northwestern, Marantha Academy, Solon Springs High School, Wisconsin