Julie Enberg Memorial Scholarship Fund

The Julie Enberg Memorial Scholarship Fund provides financial assistance to female undergraduate athletes at the University of Minnesota Duluth. The fund was established to honor Julie’s dedication to sports, especially hockey, and her commitment to both her community and UMD. Julie Enberg was an active member and coach of the UMD women’s hockey team in the days before women’s hockey was a varsity sport. She died in 2002 at age 38. This fund was established with gifts in memory of Julie.


  • Identify as Female
  • Attend the University of Minnesota Duluth 
  • Has participated in intercollegiate athletics for at least one, but no more than two, years at the time of application
  • Graduate of one of the following counties: Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, St. Louis Counties in Minnesota; Ashland, Douglas or Bayfield in Wisconsin
  • GPA of 2.5 or higher
  • Demonstrates commitment to her sport(s), school and/or community. 
  • Preference to those who may not qualify for full academic or athletic scholarships, and members of women’s hockey team.


Scholarship Grant Range

  • $1,500 for one year


Application timeline

  • This scholarship is part of the Julie Enberg Scholarship Application: Open December 1, 2023 through February 15, 2024. 


Award Details

  • This scholarship may be used for expenses of post-secondary education at any accredited college, university or technical/ vocational school
  • Award Payments will be mailed directly to the school/ university 
    • Fall Payments are mailed July 15-30
    • Spring Payments are mailed December 15-30
  • Transferring Schools: Please contact DSACF if you plan on transferring schools. Transferring schools does not automatically transfer your scholarship. If a transfer occurs after scholarship money has been disbursed it may take up to 90 days to reprocess the scholarship payment. 


Tax information

DSACF encourages scholarship recipients to seek tax advice regarding scholarships. According to the IRS: Scholarships, fellowship grants, and other grants are tax-free if you meet the following conditions:

  • You’re a candidate for a degree at an educational institution that maintains a regular faculty and curriculum and normally has a regularly enrolled body of students in attendance at the place where it carries on its educational activities; and
  • The amounts you receive are used to pay for tuition and fees required for enrollment or attendance at the educational institution, or for fees, books, supplies, and equipment required for courses at the educational institution.

McGregor High School, Bayfield High School, Drummond High School, South Shore High School, Washburn High School, Barnum Secondary School, Carlton Secondary School, Cloquet Senior High School, Cromwell-Wright Secondary School, Fond Du Lac Ojibwe School, Lincoln Secondary School (Esko) , Moose Lake High School, Wrenshall Secondary School, Cook County Senior High School, Maranatha Academy, Northwestern High School, Solon Springs School, Superior Senior High School, Bigfork High School, Deer River High School, Grand Rapids High School, Greenway High School, Nashwauk-Keewatin High School, Northern Lights Community School, Falls High School, Indus High School, Littlefork-Big Falls High School, 

 Northome High School, Two Harbors Secondary School, William Kelley Secondary School (Silver Bay), Area Learning Center, Cherry Secondary School, Chisholm High School, Duluth Denfeld High School, Duluth East High School, Eveleth-Gilbert High School, Floodwood Secondary School, Harbor City International School, Hermantown Senior High School, Hibbing Senior High School, Lakeview Christian Academy, Marshall School, Mesabi East Secondary School, Mountain Iron-Buhl Secondary School, North Woods School, Northeast Range High School, Proctor Senior High School, Rock Ridge High School ISD #2909 (Formerly Virginia High School), Vermilion Country School (Rock Ridge Public Schools), Virginia Secondary School, East Range Academy, South Ridge School, Memorial Secondary School (Ely)